As the ninth National Assembly comes to a close, it has been announced that several existing Senators would not return to the hallowed chambers following the elections in 2023.
According to Naija News, some of them lost their party’s primary election, while others chose to call it quits and go for other political offices.

It will be remembered that before the involvement of President Muhammadu Buhari and other party officials, certain lawmakers in the All Progressives Congress (APC) claimed that they were conned out of earning their party’s ticket and threatened to defect to other parties.

Over forty Senators are likely to be absent from the 10th National Assembly, which convenes in 2023.

Some others may still join the list if they are unable to secure the votes of their people to bring them back as lawmakers.

Below is the list across all political parties of those who won’t contest the election at all.

1. Senate President Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North)

2. Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun Central)

3. Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo North)

4. Rochas Okorocha (Imo West)

5. Deputy Senate President Ovie Omo-Agege (Delta Central)

6. Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South)

7. Uba Sani (Kaduna Central)

8. Aishatu Dahiru (Adamawa Central)

9. Teslim Folarin (Oyo North)

10. Sandy Onor (Cross River Central)

11. Nora Daduut (Plateau South)

12. Theodore Orji (Abia Central)

13. Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central)

14. Dimka Hezekiah (Plateau Central)

15. Gyang Istifanus (Plateau North)

16. Smart Adeyemi (Kogi West)

17. Yakubu Oseni (Kogi Central)

18. Sabi Abdullahi (Niger North)

19. Godiya Akwashiki (Nasarawa North)

20. Ibrahim Oloriegbe (Kwara Central)

21. Orker-Jev Emmanuel (Benue North West)

22. Yusuf Yusuf (Taraba Central)

23. Amos Bulus (Gombe South)

24. Ayo Akinyelure (Ondo Central)

25. Nicholas Tofowomo (Ondo South)

26. Tolu Odebiyi (Ogun West)

27. Matthew Urhoghide (Edo South)

28. Gershom Bassey (Cross River South)

29. James Manager (Delta South)

30. George Sekibo (Rivers East)

31. Betty Apiafi (Rivers West)

32. Albert Bassey (Akwa Ibom North East)

33. Chris Ekpenyong (Akwa Ibom North West)

34. Hadejia Ibrahim (Jigawa North East)

35. Sankara Abubakar (Jigawa North West)

36. Mohammed Nakudu (Jigawa South West)

37. Bello Mandiya (Katsina South)

38. Barkiya Kabir (Katsina Central)

39. Lawali Anka (Zamfara West)

40. Danjumah La’ah (Kaduna South)

41. Moses Cleopas (Bayelsa Central)

42. Mohammed Bulkachuwa (Bauchi North)

43. Chukwuka Utazi (Enugu North)

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *